Run: Book One

No reviews yet Write a Review
Zoom Main Image (opens in new tab)


Run: Book One is the sequel to the New York Times bestselling graphic novel series March and is a continuation of the life story of John Lewis and the struggles seen across the United States after the Selma voting rights campaign. In Run: Book One, John Lewis and longtime collaborator Andrew Aydin reteam with Nate Powell, the award-winning illustrator of the March trilogy, and join L. Fury to tell this often overlooked chapter of civil rights history. To John Lewis, the civil rights movement came to an end with the signing of the Voting Rights Act in 1965. But that was after more than five years as one of the preeminent figures of the movement, leading sit-in protests and fighting segregation on interstate busways as an original Freedom Rider.

Museum Story

The National Museum of African American History and Culture is the nation's largest and most comprehensive cultural destination devoted exclusively to exploring, documenting, and showcasing the African American story and its impact on American and world history. Established by an Act of Congress in 2003, it is the culmination of decades of efforts to establish a national museum that promotes and highlights the contributions of African Americans. To date, the Museum has collected close to 37,000 objects.


  • 160 pages
  • Black-and-white illustrations throughout
  • Hardcover
  • 9.5" x 6.5"
  • Ages 13 and up
  • Written by John Lewis and Andrew Aydin
  • Illustrated by Nate Powell and L. Fury